Drops of Awareness

small bits of knowledge for easy conscious infusion into your life

The Unexpected Lesson

“I have learned, that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.” Henry David Thoreau

“Just smile,” I was thinking, as I pictured my friend Chris Wellington (right) who starts his weekly Facebook jokes with that phrase.

The Story

I’ve been asking the universe for some time now to send me a man to share good times with. It’s been more than 10 years since the dissolution of my 30 year marriage. Finally, my eye is no longer attracted to a man resembling my former husband. That’s a sign!!

And my coach said recently that my heart will open up when I’m ready.

One day, there was a comment on my FaceBook wall from a man. The content told me clearly this person was a baby in social media … maybe even an embryo! Nonetheless, I thanked him for his kind comments and let it go.

Let me say that 6 months ago, I might have rolled my eyes and deleted the post, annoyed. I would have reacted. What was different this time was that I responded.

My first thought when I read the comment was “how sweet.”

I shared this with my coach and she said “you’re ready!” It was the responding in lieu of reacting, I figured.

And, she said something about the Universe sending him and my heart opening. So I sat with that. So often the things I’ve wanted have shown up in unexpected ways. Was this another one?

When I returned to my wall, there was another comment, imploring me to call him. I did nothing. This is very unusual behavior for me for I’m rarely without something to say or write.

A day later I removed the posts from my wall and sent him a private note saying I would call.

Today I went to look for his number. I was in the right mindset to call him. I couldn’t find the number. Then I remembered we had one mutual friend! I checked her wall, and here it is my friends ….

With little exception, the same imploring notes he wrote on my wall, he entered on her wall as well!

I just had to … SMILE.

 The Lesson?  It doesn’t matter how your heart begins to open … it just matters that it does!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Unexpected Lesson

  1. ditchthemarriage on said:

    So is that the guy?

  2. You are so cute! Non issue now. Send me an email and I’ll share! Leslie@pathsofchange.com

  3. That is funny. He really is an embryo on social media if he didn’t realize that you could see the notes on your friend’s page!

Leave a Reply

